HomeAbout the NBASWChaleur ChapterHow to Become a MemberNBASW PublicationsContact UsFranšais
Lodge a Complaint

COMPLAINTS

  • Social work as a profession believes in the inherent value of each person. As a result, all people receiving the services of a social worker are entitled to be treated fairly, respectfully and ethically. While the majority of social workers abide by these standards, from time to time circumstances do arise that lead to a complaint against a social worker being filed.  In keeping with its primary role of the protection of the public, the NBASW has a Complaints Committee whose mandate is to consider and investigate complaints of professional misconduct, incompetence and/or breach of the Code of Ethics (Section 21 of the Act).

 

What is a Complaint?

A complaint is a statement expressing a person’s belief that a registered social worker or a former registered social worker has practiced in an unprofessional manner.
 

Who can make a complaint?

Anyone who believes that they or someone they know has been harmed by a social worker may make a complaint. A complaint must be submitted by an employer or any person who has ‘terminated or suspended the employment of a member or who imposes restrictions on the practice of a member for reason of professional misconduct or incompetence within thirty days after the termination, suspension or imposition’ (See s.31.7(1) of the New Brunswick Association of Social Workers Act, 1988)

All registered social workers have an obligation to notify the Association when they believe or have reason to believe that a colleague is guilty of malpractice or professional misconduct. If the person making the complaint is not the person who was directly affected by the violation, clients should be named only if they have given their consent.

How to make a complaint?

Anyone who wishes to submit a complaint, should do so in writing in the form of a letter or report and address it to the Registrar of the New Brunswick Association of Social Workers, P.O. Box 1533, Station A, Fredericton, NB  E3B 5G2 and mark the envelope confidential. If the person who wants to make a complaint is unable to provide a written complaint, he or she should contact the Executive Director.
 

What must be included in the complaint?

  • Should include all the relevant details to ensure a full understanding of the allegation.
  • Should be accompanied by any documentation that could support the allegations, the names of any persons able to attest to the allegations and any other relevant information.
  • Contact information (telephone number and address) of the person/s making the complaint.
  • Must be signed and dated by the person/s making the complaint.

 
What happens after a complaint is made?

  • The Registrar sends a letter to the maker of the complaint acknowledging receipt of thecomplaint.
  • The Registrar seeks a response from the social worker who is the subject of the complaint. The social worker is given two (2) weeks to respond to the complaint or make a request in writing to the Registrar for an extension, giving reasons for the request;
  • Once the response is received by the Registrar, it is forwarded to the Complaints Committee for its review;
  • If, after reviewing the response from the social worker, the Complaints Committee is satisfied that no further action is warranted, the complaint will be dismissed.
  • If the Complaints Committee believes that further action is warranted, the Committee may pursue one of two options:
    • carry out a more in-depth investigation; or
    • if the Committee determines that it has sufficient information, it may refer the matter to the Discipline Committee.
  • If the Committee carries out a more in-depth investigation, it will, once it has the results of the investigation in hand, decide to take one of the following steps:
  • direct that the complaint be dismissed;
  • direct that the complaint be referred to the Discipline Committee; or
    • take such action as it considers appropriate under the circumstances to resolve the complaint as long as such action is not inconsistent with the NBASW Act or the By-laws.


When is a complaint dismissed?

A complaint is dismissed if there is insufficient information to support the allegations or if it is deemed to be frivolous or based only on malice.
 

What can the maker of a complaint do if he/she is dissatisfied with the Complaints Committee’s decision to dismiss the complaint?

If the maker of a complaint is dissatisfied with the decision to take no further action on his/her complaint, he or she may request that the Board of Directors carry out a review of the process. This is not an appeal of the Committee’s decision. The Board will review the treatment of the case in order to ensure that the Complaints Committee took all the steps necessary in considering and disposing of the complaint. Should the Board decide that further steps should have been taken, the Board will instruct the Complaints Committee to take such further steps and report back to the Board of Directors on its findings and whether or not the Complaints Committee wishes to change its decision. Should the Board be satisfied that the Complaints Committee took all the steps necessary, no further action will be required. The Board will subsequently advise the maker of the complaint of the outcome of the review process. This decision will be considered final.
 

What happens if a complaint is referred to discipline?

A complaint that is referred to discipline is forwarded to the Discipline Committee. The role of the Discipline Committee is to ‘hear and determine any allegations of professional misconduct or incompetence on the part of a member of the Association’ (New Brunswick Association of Social Workers Act, 1988).
 

What does the Discipline Committee do?

The Discipline Committee holds a discipline hearing to hear evidence regarding a complaint.  From the evidence, the Committee makes a judgment as to whether the social worker has committed an act of professional misconduct, incompetence, and/or violated the Code of Ethics.  Following the hearing, the Discipline Committee will meet to review the evidence given, make a decision on the respondent’s guilt or innocence regarding each allegation and on the disciplinary action that is being required.

This decision will be forwarded to the registrar who will forward a copy to the social worker as well as to the maker of the complaint.
 

How is a hearing conducted?

The hearing is conducted in a manner similar to that of judicial court. All parties may be represented by legal counsel.

Examples of disciplinary action (See sections 23(4) of the NBASW Act, 1988 for a full list of actions).

  • revoke the social worker's right to practice or suspend it for a specified period of time;
  • impose terms, conditions and/or limitations on right to practice, such as supervision, reporting, and/or inspection;
  • impose a fine; and/or
  • publish the decision.

 

If you would like more information about the Complaint and Discipline process, please do not hesitate to contact the Executive Director

P.O. Box 1533, Station "A", Fredericton, NB E3B 5G2
Telephone:(506) 459-5595
Toll Free: 1-877-495-5595
Fax:(506) 457-1421
E-mail: mleblanc@nbasw-atsnb.ca

 




greenbar
Copyright


.

AccueilInformation sur l'ATSNBChapitre ChaleurComment devenir membre immatriculéPublications de l'ATSNBContactez-nousEnglish
Déposer une plainte

PLAINTES

  • En tant que profession, le travail social croit en la valeur essentielle de chaque personne. En conséquence, quiconque reçoit les services d’un travailleur social a le droit d’être traité de façon équitable, respectueuse et conforme à la déontologie. Bien que la majorité des travailleuses et travailleurs sociaux respectent ces normes, il se produit parfois des situations qui aboutissent au dépôt d’une plainte contre un travailleur social. Conformément à sa fonction primordiale de protection du public, l’ATSNB a un comité des plaintes dont le mandat est d’étudier les plaintes pour faute professionnelle, incompétence ou violation du Code de déontologie et de faire enquête à leur sujet (article 21 de la loi).
     

Qu’est-ce qu’une plainte?

Une plainte est une déclaration d’une personne qui dit croire qu’un travailleur social qui est ou a été immatriculé a agi de façon antiprofessionnelle.
 

Qui peut porter plainte?

Toute personne qui croit qu’un travailleur social a fait du tort à elle-même ou à quelqu'un de sa connaissance peut porter plainte. Un employeur ou toute personne qui a congédié ou suspendu le membre ou qui impose des restrictions à sa pratique pour motif de faute professionnelle ou d’incompétence doit déposer une plainte dans les 30 jours suivant le congédiement, la suspension ou l’imposition de restrictions. (Voir le paragraphe 31.7(1) de la Loi de 1988 sur l'Association des travailleurs sociaux du Nouveau-Brunswick.)

Tous les travailleurs sociaux immatriculés ont l’obligation d’aviser l’association lorsqu’ils croient ou ont des raisons de croire qu’un de leurs collègues est coupable de négligence ou de faute professionnelle. Si la personne qui porte plainte n’a pas été la victime directe de la violation, les clients devraient être nommés seulement moyennant leur consentement.
 

Comment porter plainte?

Toute personne qui veut déposer une plainte doit le faire par écrit sous forme de lettre ou de rapport adressé à la registraire de l’Association des travailleurs sociaux du Nouveau-Brunswick, C.P. 1533, succursale A, Fredericton (N.‑B.) E3B 5G2, avec la mention « Confidentiel » sur l’enveloppe. Si la personne qui veut porter plainte est incapable de le faire par écrit, elle devrait s’adresser au Directeur Général. 


Que faut-il inclure dans la plainte?

  • On doit inclure tous les détails pertinents qui permettront de bien comprendre l’allégation.
  • La plainte devrait être accompagnée de toute documentation à l’appui des allégations, des noms des personnes qui peuvent les attester et de tout autre renseignement pertinent.
  • Les coordonnées (numéro de téléphone et adresse) de la personne qui porte plainte doivent être incluses.
  • Le plaignant doit signer et dater la plainte.


Qu’arrive-t-il après le dépôt de la plainte?

  • La registraire envoie une lettre à l’auteur de la plainte pour en accuser réception.
  • La registraire demande une réponse du travailleur social visé par la plainte. Celui-ci a deux semaines pour répondre à la plainte ou pour demander par écrit une prolongation de délai à la registraire, en donnant les raisons de la demande.
  • Une fois que la registraire a reçu la réponse, elle la transmet au comité des plaintes pour qu’il l’examine.
  • Si le comité des plaintes, après avoir examiné la réponse du travailleur social, est convaincu qu’aucune autre suite à l’affaire n’est justifiée, la plainte est rejetée.
  • Si le comité des plaintes est convaincu qu’il est justifié de donner suite à la plainte, il peut adopter l’une des deux options suivantes :
    • mener une enquête plus approfondie;
    • s’il conclut qu’il dispose d’une information suffisante, renvoyer l’affaire au comité de discipline.
  • Si le comité mène une enquête plus approfondie, il peut décider, une fois qu’il dispose des résultats de l’enquête, de prendre l’une des mesures suivantes :
  • ordonner le rejet de la plainte;
  • ordonner le renvoi de la plainte au comité de discipline;
    • prendre les mesures qu’il estime indiquées en l’espèce pour régler la plainte, à condition qu’elles ne contreviennent ni à la Loi sur l’ATSNB, ni aux règlements administratifs.

 

Quand une plainte est-elle rejetée?

Une plainte est rejetée si l’information est insuffisante pour appuyer les allégations, ou si elle est jugée frivole ou simplement malicieuse.
 

Que peut faire le plaignant s’il est insatisfait de la décision du comité des plaintes de rejeter la plainte?

Si l’auteur de la plainte est insatisfait de la décision de ne donner aucune autre suite à sa plainte, il peut demander au conseil d'administration d’effectuer une révision du processus. Cela n’est pas un appel de la décision du comité. Le conseil examine le traitement de l’affaire pour s’assurer que le comité des plaintes a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires en examinant la plainte et en statuant à son sujet. Si le conseil décide que des mesures additionnelles auraient dû être prises, il charge le comité des plaintes de prendre ces mesures, de lui faire rapport de ses constatations, puis de dire s’il désire modifier sa décision. Si le conseil est convaincu que le comité des plaintes a pris toutes les mesures nécessaires, aucune autre suite n’est requise. Le conseil avise ensuite l’auteur de la plainte de l’issue de la révision de processus; cette décision est considérée définitive.
 

Qu’arrive-t-il si une plainte est renvoyée au comité de discipline?

Quand une plainte est renvoyée au comité de discipline, ce comité a pour fonction de « tenir une audience pour statuer sur toute allégation de faute professionnelle ou d’incompétence formulée à l’égard d’un membre de l’Association » (Loi de 1988 sur l'Association des travailleurs sociaux du Nouveau-Brunswick).
 

Que fait le comité de discipline?

Le comité de discipline tient une audience disciplinaire pour entendre les preuves concernant la plainte. En fonction de la preuve, le comité détermine dans son jugement si le travailleur social a commis une faute professionnelle, a fait preuve d’incompétence ou a enfreint le Code de déontologie. À la suite de l’audience, le comité de discipline se réunit pour examiner la preuve fournie et rendre une décision sur la culpabilité ou l’innocence de l’intimé à l’égard de chaque allégation et sur les mesures disciplinaires nécessaires.

La décision est transmise à la registraire, qui en envoie copie au travailleur social ainsi qu’à l’auteur de la plainte.
 

Comment se déroule l’audience?

L’audience est tenue d’une manière semblable à celle d’un tribunal. Les parties peuvent être représentées par des avocats.

Exemples de mesures disciplinaires (voir le paragraphe 23(4) de la Loi de 1988 sur l’ATSNB pour une liste complète des mesures possibles)

  • Révoquer le droit du travailleur social de pratiquer la profession ou suspendre ce droit pendant une durée déterminée.
  • Assortir son droit de pratiquer la profession de modalités, conditions ou restrictions, telles qu’une supervision, la présentation de rapports ou des inspections.
  • Infliger une amende.
  • Publier la décision.


Si vous désirez de plus amples renseignements sur le processus de plaintes et de discipline, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec le Directeur Général.

C.P. 1533, succursale A, Fredericton (N.-B.) E3B 5G2

Téléphone : 506-459-5595
Numéro sans frais : 1-877-495-5595
Télécopieur : 506-457-1421
Courriel : mleblanc@nbasw-atsnb.ca




greenbar
Copyright


.