HomeAbout the NBASWChaleur ChapterHow to Become a MemberNBASW PublicationsContact UsFranšais
Lodge a Complaint

Awards and Distinctions


Raoul Léger Memorial Award

The Raoul Léger Memorial Award is presented yearly to a social worker in New Brunswick who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the practice of social work in New Brunswick.

Criteria and Nomination Form:

Raoul Léger Information Sheet

Raoul Léger Nomination Form


2017  Emilie Bourgeois
2016   Judy Levi
2015   Sylvie Patry
2014   Barbara MacNaughton
2013   Madeleine Dubé
2012   Robert Landry
2011   Judy Adams
2010   Suzanne McKenna
2009   Christine Flewwelling
2008   Janine Granchelli
2007   Denise Chiasson
2006   Brian Ouellette
2005   Fernand Sirois
2004   Paul Cartwright
2003   Claude Savoie
2002   Albert Gauvin
2001   Gaila Friars
2000   Gaetan St-Amand
1999   Donna Gordon
1998   Carol D. Proctor
1996   James E. Morton
1995   Bruce MacPherson
1994   Loretta Panasuk
1993   Marcel Arseneau
1992   Morel Caissie
1991   Claude Snow 
1990   Bill Wister

Debbie Nason Award

The Debbie Nason Award was created in 2003 in memory of Debbie Nason, a social worker who devoted her life to the profession of social work in the health care field.  While the award is intended to be presented on a yearly basis, if a suitable recipient is not nominated, the award will not be presented in that year.

Criteria and Nomination Form:

Debbie Nason Award criteria

Debbie Nason Award Nomination Form



2017   Gisèle Maillet
2015   Catherine Dean
2012   Karine Levesque
2010   John Lutz
2009   Brenda Haslam-Layden
2006   Denise Chiasson

The CASW Distinguished Service Award


The CASW Distinguished Service Award is given yearly by the Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) on the occasion of the National Social Work Week, to an individual or group of individuals selected from their membership by each provincial association. The CASW Award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of social welfare and for the profession of social work in Canada.

Criteria and Application Form:

CASW Distinguished Service Award Criteria

CASW Distinguished Service Award Application Form


Recipients from NB
2010   Karine Levesque
2009   Vicki Coy
2008   Gaila Friars
2007   France Daigle
2006   Jean Burtt
2005   Claude Savoie
2004   Shelley Murray
2003   Debbie Nason
2002   Paul A.W. Cartwright
2001   Janine Granchelli
2000   Suzanne McKenna
1999   Donna Gordon



Field Placement Supervisor Award

Each year, the New Brunswick Association of Social Workers, Université de Moncton, and St.Thomas University jointly present an award to a social worker in recognition and appreciation for his or her strong commitment and ongoing support toward social work education through the supervision of social work students in their field placements


2007   Élide Doiron
            Murray Weeks
2006   Michael Roy
            Gloria Sacobie
2005   Sylvie Patry
            Cynthia Boyd
2004   Armadine Ouellet
            Gaynell Cloney-Bowlen
2003   Suzanne Boudreau
            Lorraine Whalley
2002   Marcel Bourque
            Bruce MacPherson


NBASW Scholarship

The NBASW Scholarship Fund is awarded annually to a registered and practicing (in New Brunswick) member of the New Brunswick Association of Social Workers for the purpose of undertaking studies leading to a higher degree in social work, or to a specialized certificate program or course related to social work.

Criteria and Application Form:

NBASW Scholarship Guidelines.doc

NBASW Scholarship Application Form.doc


2017    Natalie Lawrence
2012    Francine Lanteigne
2011   Jennifer Underhill
2010   Murray Weeks
2009   Chad Daigle
2008   France Daigle
2007   Stephanie Baker
2006   Kathleen Carmichael
2004   Rhonda Stairs
2003   Vicki Coy


Cooperators Bursary for Members

The Cooperators Bursary Fund is awarded annually to a registered and residing in New Brunswick member(s) of the New Brunswick Association of Social Workers for the purpose of undertaking training such as conferences, workshops, seminars and webinars. 

Criteria and Application Form:

Cooperators Bursary for Members Guidelines

Cooperators Bursary for Members Application Form 



The  Canadian  Association  of  Social Workers  (CASW),  in  partnership  with  the  NBASW,  are  pleased  to  offer  a  grant  to  assist  in  the delivery of continuing education to New Brunswick social workers. The grant may be accessed by a single member or a group of members wishing to host a continuing education opportunity for New Brunswick social workers. Funding for this grant is made  possible by BMS, the broker for the CASW liability insurance program.

Criteria and Application Form: 

Grant Policy and Procedures

Grant Application Form